Technology 

I live for technology.  The iPhone in my hand, using the free wifi offered inside of a building, as I write this while watching my kids skate just blows me away.  There are numerous other people here (including small children) with laptops, iPads, smart phones, wearable tech, all accepting of it as a way of life.  I don’t see it as a dumbing down of our society.  Sure, I could put down my phone, have a conversation with a stranger, maybe even pay attention to my children, but why?  We don’t live in the dark ages any more.

I had my first computer and learned how to use BASIC by around age six.

You’re so BASIC.

A few years later at age thirteen, my computer could connect with other computers through a dial up 2400 Baud Modem.  It was already a step above the film WarGames.

By age seventeen, I owned a pager.  No reason for it, I just wanted one.  It’s now in a landfill somewhere is my guess.

 

Beep me sometime.

Then I got a cellphone.  It had snake on it.  That was about it.  But it was reliable.  I’ve gone through about five or six different models now, replacing it every four to five years.  Technology has come a long way and I love every bit of it.

I’ll be the first to admit, technology has been sneaky.  We willingly allow GPS to track our moves through our devices.  There are cameras just about everywhere watching our every move.  Drones, GoPros, smartphones, dashcams, who needs Big Brother when we do it to ourselves?  Sure you can argue about privacy, but if you’re doing something wrong, the law won’t care about your privacy.

I’m not afraid of what the future brings. I’m sure more good is on the way.  Perhaps one day there will be ocular implants instead of screens.  Perhaps one day there will medical advances through nanotechnology.  Perhaps one day there will be a way to keep our consciousness alive in a virtual reality setting.  Perhaps there will come a time where we plug in like the Matrix.

As long as the bugs are worked out, sign me up for Josef V2.0 and allow me to see where the world goes.  Technology doesn’t scare me.  I fully embrace it.

Leave a Reply

