Positive Mental Attitude 

One of the few things I took from my father was his attitude towards life.  (I also took his asshole personality and tweaked it a bit, but that’s for another day.)  My father wore a necklace for as long as I can remember with PMA engraved on it.  He told me that it stood for Positive Mental Attitude.  It’s a mantra that I have since adopted in my day to day life.

 

What a bunch of hippy, dippy, baloney.

 

The other side of my father’s necklace had NMA engraved.  It stood for Negative Mental Attitude.  He wore the necklace with NMA against his chest and PMA facing outwards.  He told me it was in order to keep the negativity inside and express positivity outwards.  It’s about the most spiritual my father was in life.  I’m not a very spiritual person but I do believe in being kind.

This world has too much negativity flowing through its veins.  It’s never going to disappear.  The best we can do is try and not add to it.  Everyday I try and act positive towards my family, friends and coworkers.  Sure, I poke fun at them from time to time, but I’m also ok being on the receiving end of a good natured joke.

Teaching my children to have empathy and be nice to others is my way of trying to move the next generation forward.

To quote one of my favorite films, Brazil, “Listen, kid, we’re all in it together.”

…well, that’s a pipe of a different color.

 

One comment

  1. Jamie · March 3, 2016

    Agreed! Negativity will always be around. I think it’s about how you choose to react to it and if you choose to contribute to it. Staying on the positive end of the spectrum is easier said than done, but I truly believe it makes a world of difference.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

