Having fun

I like fun.  Who doesn’t?  There’s entire industries devoted to make products to help in the enjoyment of fun.  My favorite form of fun is gaming.  Mostly playing board games aka tabletop games.

I’ve always enjoyed board games.  As a child, my friends and I had week long battles of Monopoly fueled on candy and cola.  As a teen, a few of us played Risk in a Tim Hortons until 4am, again fueled on caffeine and sugar.  A few years ago, my wife and I began attending Comic Cons.  

In 2013, we attended Emerald City Comic Con where I spent the majority of the weekend at their tabletop gaming area.  It was in a secluded area of the Con where not a lot of people went to.  I learned, and played, numerous different games.  Somehow, I ended up winning at a game I’d never played before (Zombie Dice) and won the opportunity to play a game the next day with the Queen of the Geeks: Felicia Day.  I went back to my hotel that night and binge watched TableTop season 1 in order to try and learn Felicia Day’s gaming style.  The next day, I played Munchkin against her and a couple of other people.  We all lost to her.  But, it was here that I fell in love with gaming again and knew I would have to bring it home to my family.  

 

She tells it like it is.

 
Geek and Sundry hosted the gaming area at Emerald City in Seattle.  Wil Wheaton and his cohort, Felicia Day were there at this event, and they promoted the first ever International Table Top Day.  It was a way for people everywhere to share their favorite board games with each other.  To celebrate the first year, we held games at our home and invited friends over and made trophies for some ridiculous categories.  It was a lot of fun.  We had such great weather that we moved some of our games outdoors.

 

The Doctor teaching me Wasabi.

 
Since then, our gaming collection has grown.  Our kids have mastered all of our games to a point that they teach others at the numerous conventions we attend.  We play games at home and often get into arguments over which game to play.  Today, the power is out and we are all at home for the day.  Now to decide if we will play Munchkin, Ticket to Ride, Zombie Dice, King of Tokyo, Exploding Kittens or one of the other obscure games we own.

This year’s date is set!

I’m happy that my family likes to play TableTop games.  We are looking forward to this year’s International TableTop Day on April 30th. If you need to brush up on how to play some games, or just want to have fun watching celebraties play, head over to TableTop on YouTube for some good laughs.

Since I’m not at work on the railroad today, it’s time for me to get off my iPhone and kick my family’s butt at Ticket to Ride.

One comment

  1. manjulasidhan · March 11, 2016

    Here is to fun times !!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

