Level Up

Hooray!  It’s Tuesday!  Some of the most important things in my life have happened on a Tuesday.  I was married to a fantastic woman on Tuesday July 10, 2001.  Our third child was born on Tuesday May 16, 2006.  On Tuesday March 15,2016- I turn 40.

Level 40.

 

I’ve also had very memorable birthdays.  My thirteenth birthday, there was a scavenger hunt set up in my home.  It ended with my mother surprising us with our first trip to Disneyland.  Since then, I love taking my family there on an almost yearly basis.

On my seventeenth birthday, I took my younger sister on the bus heading into town.  She got off to visit her friend and I continued on to the mall.  Around dinner time, I came home to find out she had been hit by a truck trying to cross the road and was air lifted to the hospital for emergency surgery.  My parents and I spent the rest of that night not knowing if she would live.  Seeing her post surgery, all bandaged up with tubes and monitors connected to her, was one of the most traumatic things I’ve ever experienced in my life.  Luckily she survived, but life was somehow different for everyone in my family after that.

 

I’ve survived 40 years on this planet.  Here’s some interesting things about my birthday: 
My Zodiac symbol is Pisces.  To quote the first Zodiac website I searched: “IF YOU ARE BORN ON March 15, you are Piscean that likes a challenge. Yes indeed… your competitive nature puts you on top of your game. You work hard and play hard but your image is important to you. Pisces, you are concerned with how others see you although you are very warm and likeable person.

As the 15th March birthday meaning suggests you are one of the nicest people anyone would want to meet and trust me; they do want to meet you! With all that you aspire to be, you know it holds a great responsibility to be a leader. You, Pisces, are just the person for the job.” 

My Chinese Astrological animal is the Dragon.  Here’s a little excerpt about the “1976 Fire Dragon” I found online: “With the influence of the Fire Element, the Fire Dragon is the most energetic, passionate and dynamic of the Dragon types. At times, the Fire Dragon is truly fearless in their pursuits and their passions are nearly impossible to derail. With a high self-esteem and confidence, the Fire Dragon is often known to be dominant in social situations, which may explain why the Fire Dragon is amongst the most feared signs in the Chinese Zodiac. Luckily, the Fire Dragon is concerned with doing good over evil. With their fiery disposition, the Fire Dragon is a natural leader and can inspire others with ease. While it may not be as easy for the Fire Dragon to make friends, these qualities can lead directly to group or individual achievement. The Fire Dragon is willing to take on any challenge alone and at times, would probably prefer to reach their goals alone.”

I could read into both of those and take away what I want to hear, but I don’t believe the stars in my zodiacs dictate my life.  I was baptized Catholic within days of being born, because of medical reasons told to my mother at the time of my birth.  At the time, she was feared I wouldn’t survive.  Two years later, I underwent a lung operation and have been pretty good ever since (aside from my asthma and allergies).  I would say that I have never really practiced any kind of religion.  I do consider myself a kind hearted Atheist.  I feel that the Golden Rule is an excellent way to live life. “Do unto others as you would have them do unto you.”  Sometimes it’s a hard rule to follow, but it seems the most sincere way to live life.

Thanks to everyone who has been on this journey of life with me.  I appreciate all of the kindness that has been shown my way over the years.

2 comments

  1. Jamie · March 15, 2016

    Happy birthday!!!!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

