Another reason to drink?

St. Patrick’s Day.  The reason to drink (in excess) according to Wikipedia: Lenten restrictions on eating and drinking alcohol are lifted for the day, which has encouraged and propagated the holiday’s tradition of alcohol consumption.  Most people in North America dress in green with clovers and leprechauns, and drink cheap green beer thinking that’s how you should celebrate.  Not many people look at the religious background of St. Patrick (very similar to the lack of understanding the traditions behind Christmas & Easter) when celebrating March 17th.  

As I’ve grown older, finding a reason to have a beer or two has changed.  A birthday of a close friend, weddings, & funerals are top of the list for a reason to get a bit tipsy.  The occasional rough day at work sometimes calls for a stiff drink as well.  

 

What time is it?

 
When I first came of age to be drinking, any day was a reason to get hammered:  

  • The sun is out, let’s go drink at the beach!  
  • It’s raining, let’s drink at the bar!  
  • It’s lunch time, grab a pitcher of beer to wash it down.  
  • I woke up hung over, perfect reason to start drinking early.
  • I woke up drunk, might as well keep drinking.
  • I got a new hair cut, let’s drink.
  • It’s five o’clock somewhere, let’s drink!

I’m not telling people not to go out drinking.  I’m simply stating that I have done it, and I’m over it.  Life has many turning points.  (Like becoming legal drinking age and using that to your advantage.)  A big turning point for me was when my children came into this world.  It wouldn’t be fair to my wife to look after three kids and a hungover adult every weekend.  

Happy St. Padme Day!

I will raise a glass later today and wish everyone a Happy St. Patrick’s Day.  Go ahead and have fun, but please be safe and smart tonight.

Leave a Reply

