Ouch

  
This growing old thing is painful.  After being on my feet for about seven days straight, walking about 20,000 steps everyday, my feet are angry at me.  I don’t walk that much on a regular basis anymore.  That’s about 18 km per day.  I have two more days of this to go.  I’m at the age that I need to make sure I am wearing good shoes or I really suffer.

 

Ain’t nobody got time for that.

 
It may sound strange, but walking around is my favorite thing to do.  It clears your head, it’s easy exercise and you get places.  I try and walk a few kms almost ever day around our neighborhood.  It’s a time for my wife & I to talk and keep our relationship in order.  

“You take the blue pill, the story ends, you wake up in your bed and believe whatever you want to believe. You take the red pill, you stay in Wonderland and I show you how deep the rabbit hole goes.”

  
 Back to my complaining about walking ten times more than usual – I have days where I hurt so bad, my slight limp becomes extremely obvious.  The pain begins in my feet and works its way through my heels to a burn in my calves & thighs and ends with a lower back pain.  Over the past week, at the end of each day, I take off my shoes and deal with my little tootsies throbbing for a few minutes.  My heals calm down and my thighs relax.  But the back pain causes me to bend over and makes me about as sexy as the Hunchback of Notre Dame.  Advil has become my new best friend.

I am now looking back on my life and realizing that I should have done more exercises to help my back.  I’m a fairly tall gentleman and should probably look into Yoga to help my posture.  But I’d look pretty badass with a walker…

  

Leave a Reply

