Word Crimes (#tbt)

I am a stickler when it comes to proper grammar and spelling.  Every time that I’m about to post something on social media I proofread my thoughts.  Not only have I rewritten posts, I have also simply deleted them and written something else entirely.  If I do make a mistake, my friends are kind enough to point them out immediately.  As rare as this may be, I choose to leave the mistakes to show that I am human and not always perfect.

I have eased up on pointing out when others make grammatical errors.  I came to realize that some people either don’t care about making mistakes or just don’t understand how to use the English language.  I’m talking about people who have spoken and used English all their lives, not those who are trying to learn it in adulthood.  I have a forgiveness for the latter, since I know I’d be in the same boat if I were to go to a foreign land and learn a new language.

  
A couple of years ago, Weird Al released the song Word Crimes.  (It’s still a favorite of mine & I play the song all the time.)  When he released this song, Weird Al did something no artist had ever done before with a new album: Every day, for eight days straight, he released a new video for each new song he had recorded.  Not only did he release a new video each day, he released them on different media outlets.  This strategy worked in his favor.  Here’s the Wikipedia about the album:

“After Yankovic’s 32 years under contract, Mandatory Fun marks his first number one album in the United States. It received positive reviews from contemporary music critics. Yankovic chose not to release a lead single and instead publicized the album by launching eight music videos online during the first week of the album release through different video content portals. Among these, “Word Crimes” became Yankovic’s fourth top 40 song, making him one of few artists to achieve such a feat in four separate decades.

The album won for Best Comedy Album at the 57th Annual Grammy Awards, Yankovic’s fourth career Grammy. Due to the completion of his record contract obligations and the success of the video strategy, Yankovic has suggested Mandatory Fun may be his last traditional album, switching to more timely releases of singles and EPs of his songs.”

Four decades of music making the Top 40.  It goes to show that no matter what age you are, success is achievable through determination and strategy.

I am hopping that I haven’t maked any misstakes in this post.  You are welcome to point out my errors. Nuthin’ more embarrassing than using the wrong form of youre.

Leave a Reply

