wi-fi 

In this day and age, most of us live connected to the Internet on a regular basis.  It is an integral part of our daily activities.  From getting directions to a restaurant, posting pictures of our meals to Instagram, sharing the location on Facebook, then tweeting about how great the food is #greatservice #freewifi.  

As much as I have a data plan on my cellphone, I still prefer to use wifi whenever possible.  Especially traveling out of the country.  Roaming rates on a Canadian cellular plan is astronomical!  Not using my cellular while out of the country means I usually only take my iPhone out to take pictures.  That means I’m spending more time enjoying my travels than tweeting about enjoying my travels.  At the end of the day, I connect to my hotel’s wifi and see what’s new in my other life.

  
We use the same hotels on a regular basis, so often times we have connected without searching for the host or re-entering passwords.  I’m not sure what to think of this.  Good that we like the hotels, bad that we are there so often we connect immediately.

We returned home for less than a week from our road trip to California before heading out again to Seattle.  During this time, it was nice to have the comforts of home, but it was a mad rush to get ready for our next convention.  The other hardship was my home internet decided to flake out.  Not having time to troubleshoot, my frustration level was increasing.  We are home now for a few weeks, so I am trying to see where our issue is.  Is it the router?  Is it the modem?  Most likely it’s the 30 year old cable running through our home that is dropping the signal.

 

Unimpressed.


I would like to work on this soon because my wife’s business relies on her ability to have access to the Internet to reach out to her customers and keep her business current.  For the kids and I, it’s for entertainment such as Netflix in the evenings.  Time to put on my IT hat and figure out the problem.  Or just call my internet provider and get them to fix it.

 

One comment

  1. Jamie · April 12, 2016

    Hi there! I nominated you to do the 3-day quote challenge if you are interested. 🙂
    http://whenyoulookforthegood.com/2016/04/12/power-of-fear-2/

    Like

Leave a Reply

