I like being liked

It’s a good feeling to know that people like you.  I just returned to work after my vacations and was treated with sincerity and kindness.  My coworkers were genuinely happy to see me again, asking questions about where I was, and why I left for so long.  It’s funny to think that my presence was actually missed. 

Today, one of my coworkers is retiring.  She handed me a business card as I left.  She’s not working somewhere else or starting a home business.  The card was her way of saying goodbye to everyone she knows from work.  It wasn’t a Hallmark greeting card in any form.  The sentiment was genuine and came from her heart.  Here is what it said:

“What made it all worthwhile are the people I worked with.  Thank you for your kindness and for the laughs.  Take care and keep in touch.”

A lot of people really liked her and she will be missed.  She was often there with a story of “the good ol’ days of railroading” from way back when.  All of the changes to how things were once done will slowly slip from people’s minds as more and more people retire.  Our work environment is in a constant state of change.

When I get closer to retirement, I hope that I too will be able to leave my work with a smile knowing that what I did impacted those around me.  Hopefully it will be in such a positive way as my coworker has done over the years.  I may be liked now by my coworkers, but I don’t want to become the bitter old guy who everyone hates to be around and can’t wait until I finally retire.  There’s no need for that.  I think I can stay positive throughout my career.  Only time will tell.

I like being liked.  

 

Leave a Reply

