Movie Sequels: The Search For More Money

The magic of cinema.  It draws you into a world different from your own.  At a young age I always loved movies, mostly sci-fi and fantasy.  I grew up with adventure stories that seemed larger than life and gave my imagination something to dream of.  Musicals filled me with joy. Science fiction brought forth my imagination. From Annie to Star Wars, The Goonies to The Dark Crystal, Tron to Ghostbusters- they all sit near and dear to my soul.

The past couple of decades has seen a rise in remakes, sequels, & prequels.  What was once left to the “B” movies back in the 70’s, became more mainstream.  Hollywood is afraid of creating new characters and stories for people to enjoy.  If something extraordinary takes hold of the box office, the studio execs are quick to pounce on the money maker and exploit a new franchise quickly.  I’m not trying to be cynical of the machine. I’m more trying to figure out why it works the way it does.  Does it always come down to money?

This summer (like most summers) there will be sequels, rehashes of old characters, and crowds of people flocking to the cinemas.  We all want to be entertained.  Friends talk about the latest big film.  People are afraid of missing out.  But what happens when a movie that we hope will be good, turns out to be really, really bad?  

Really not needed…


A few years ago, I really enjoyed Tron:Legacy.  It was far better than the first Tron film.  But it didn’t do well at the box office, so they killed the next sequel that was planned.  I’m totally ok with that.  When I was six, the film E.T. came out.  It stayed in the top spot of the box office for six weeks.  34 years later and there is no talk of a sequel.  That’s the way it should be.

Disney has now decided to do a sequel to their beloved classic, Mary Poppins.  It is scheduled to come out in 2018- 54 years after the original film.  Why?  Does society need this?  Is there some sort of closure that never came from the original film?


This year has an X-Men sequel, Ghostbusters reboot, two films involving Batman, a Star Wars side story film, a Pixar sequel, raunchy comedy sequels, live action remakes of cartoon films, and so on and so forth…

The machine needs money to grease it up.  I know that sequels, remakes, and prequels will be happening as long as films are being made.  I’m not saying I won’t be contributing to this- I’m just going to be more selective of where my money will be going.

Leave a Reply

