Adults think I’m cool.

Going to toot my own horn a bit today…

Toot-toot

It has been brought to my attention numerous times that my wife and I are pretty cool parents.  I’m sure our children don’t always agree…  But at the last Comicon we were at, I think it may be true.  

This is what cool looks like.


Since before the birth of our first child, we knew that we would try and be unique parents without being drastically over the top.  So our first born was named Random.  She has grown into her name quite nicely with everyone asking where we came up with it.  It’s the name of the girl from book five of the trilogy “Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy”.  The last two remaining humans in the universe have a child, and she is named Random.  Kind of an Adam & Eve story. (Side note: My wife and I dressed as Adam & Eve for a Halloween party we had before we had children.)

Two years later, our second daughter was born.  Much discussion of her name to try and compliment her sister was had.  We came upon the name Darwin as a way to express our belief in evolution vs creationism.  People can use names from the bible, why couldn’t we name our children after famous scientists?  To this day- everyone who meets her, loves her.

Our son was born a couple of years after her… So we named him Theory.  It finished our naming combination for our children.  He is also a very talkative and curious young man, oftentimes surprising people with his knowledge.  That’s the rundown of our children’s names.  


Back to Calgary Comic & Entertainment Expo- our two youngest were in a cosplay contest.  My wife sewed their costumes and I helped make a shield and accessories.  (Making props and costumes is something that I enjoy doing and I’m getting better as time goes on.)  Our kids went on stage and were immediately cheered by the audience.  The kids loved it.  The host approached to interview them and asked their names.  My daughter answered saying her name is Darwin and her brother is Theory.  The crowd cheered again.  The host said that they have the coolest parents ever for both making their costumes and naming them.  My kids were filled with joy.

Strangers think my wife and I are cool and have cool kids.  I couldn’t agree more.

Leave a Reply

