Building Table Number 2

I built a table a couple of years ago because I couldn’t find one large enough that I wanted to purchase.  I needed a table that would fill our sunroom and seat eight to twelve comfortably.  I built the table from 2×10’s and 2×4’s that I torched to give it a rustic look.  Cost me about $100 and a few hours of labor.  Our dining room table turned out pretty good and we are still using it.  (Being a perfectionist, I see the flaws and know what I would do differently if I were to make another table in this style.)


Perfect table for our castle.


Today I am finishing up table number two.  Nowhere near the size or style.  This one is more industrial looking.  It started from a marble slab that was donated to me.  I’ve spent about $70 in piping material and less than thirty minutes to build it.  It will sit outside this summer beside the BBQ as some extra counter space.  Check out the progress:

Heavy marble slab.

Black,oily pipe parts.

Pipes! ASSEMBLE!

It took a bit of fiddling around to get everything squared off.  The weight of the marble helped in making the table sturdy.  The finished side table/counter is the perfect height for me.  It will add that little bit of extra space that I always feel I am missing when cooking outside.  I am happy with the final result.

Marble and metal.

Now to finish the yard and start entertaining guests more often.

Leave a Reply

