Teach and learn

This past weekend it dawned on me that I have achieved my goal as a parent.


We were playing Settlers of Catan as a family and our middle child won.  It wasn’t one of those “Let her win” moments either.  She legitimately kicked everyone’s butt.  My favorite part of the experience was that she was a gracious winner.  No yelling “IN YO’ FACE!” And prancing around gloating.  She won, we congratulated her, we cleaned up.  


After our dinner, my daughters and I were practice shooting with the bow and arrow set we picked up last year.  This time, my oldest daughter proved to be better than the rest of us.  We had set up a bale of hay and some lawn flamingos as targets.  Our oldest daughter was hitting her target almost every time.  One flamingo was obliterated into nothing more than some plastic shards.

In both instances, I had taught them the basic skills to achieve their goals.  With the tabletop game I had explained the rules previously and offer some tactics to help them out.  With the archery I explained the dynamics of how to hold the bow, how an arrow flies, and how to aim.  

Now I know I said at the beginning that I’ve achieved my goal as a parent.  Mostly this is true.  I always want to see my children succeed.  I pass on my knowledge or help them in gaining the knowledge required.  For example, all three of my kids are amazing at piano.  They have gone on to do RCM exams and pass with honors.  My oldest has even written a few compositions this past year for Grade 8.  I can play the beginning of “Jingle Bells” with my right hand.

I have much more to offer my children.  At some point, they will start to teach me.

Leave a Reply

