Firsties!

Being first doesn’t matter much to me anymore.  I used to love seeing a film before the general public.  Or picking up the newest videogame the day it got released.  Being first in line at a Black Friday sale (or in Canada: Boxing Day Sale) stopped being fun when I realized that I didn’t need to buy junk just because it’s cheap.  I’m not saying I like to be last either.  I also don’t think I’ve fallen into the trap of the “Fear Of Missing Out”.

My goals in life have drastically changed. Material possessions are fine and all- but I’m focused more on experiences.  I love meeting new people at Comicons.  People from different walks of life.  People of different ages.  Some who are more Star Trek than Star Wars.  A convention brings us together no matter what we do any other day of the year.  


For us the conventions are also a way of enjoying some family time.  We spend a couple of days driving to and from the cons.  We try and add a side trip to some new and different part of the journey.  My favorite so far was the extended trip through Death Valley and the Extraterrestrial Highway.


I would like to take a trip or two with just my wife over the next few years.  We don’t often get time together.  I think a weekend getaway is in order SANS CHILDREN.

Leave a Reply

