ID 4

The film Independence Day came out in 1996.  I remember seeing it in the theater a couple of times that summer.  Most people have seen the film.  I’m not going to write a review for it or its sequel.  Instead, I’d like to share how fun the film has been for my family and I.

In 2010 we sat down as a family to watch the film together.  It was the first time our children had ever seen the movie.  At the time our children were ages 4,6 & the oldest was about to turn 8.  Before showing them the film I explained that the movie was based on historical events that had taken place in 1996.  The movie was an homage to why Americans celebrate Independence Day.  At the end of the film our children believed that it was all real.  That the Americans had defeated an alien race and saved the earth.

Of course, now our children are older and believe that story about as much as they believe in Santa Claus.  But every year we watch the film as a family and today will be no different.  We all look forward to it and have fun talking about the first time we watched it.  I’m pretty sure that by next year, we will watch the sequel after it as well.

 

Last fall when we were driving back home from Stan Lee’s Comikaze, we took a detour from our regular route home.  We headed through Death Valley and onward through the Nevada desert.  Part of our trip was to find places that most people skip over.  I decided that this would be the perfect time to travel down the Extraterrestrial Highway.  We stopped in Rachel, Nevada at the Little AleInn because I wanted to see this place for myself.  No one was there except the two employees at the restaurant.  We ate lunch and did the touristy thing of taking photos everywhere around the building.  It brought forth more talk about the film ID4 and where it was filmed.  There is a time capsule waiting to be opened at the restaurant and I wonder if it will have any hoopla surrounding it when they do open it.

This entire trip I was taking numerous selfies and pictures of our SUV on the horizon to prove that we were there.  The scenery was spectacular and I highly recommend the trip through Nevada.  We were also lucky to see some fighter jets fly so close to us when we stopped for a break at one of the many Vista points.

America is a beautiful country and I look forward to traveling through it more.

Happy Independence Day to my neighbours down south!

Leave a Reply

