Cartoons For The Young & Old

I grew up watching cartoons.  Back in the 80’s it was “Scooby Doo”, “GI Joe”, “My Little Pony”, “Jem & The Holograms”, “Transformers”, and “The Real Ghostbusters” that filled my viewing time.  I continue to watch cartoons with my kids and appreciate the humor that can be found in newer shows like “MLP:Friendship is Magic”, “Teen Titans” or “Phineas and Ferb”.  My wife and I fell in love while dating as we watched “The Powerpuff Girls”.

Back in my late teens I discovered an animation festival that changed my attitude towards cartoons.  It was a traveling show that came to Vancouver once a year called Spike & Mike’s Sick and Twisted Festival of Animation.  A bunch of my friends and I went to the show and laughed.  We laughed a bunch.  So much so that we made it a tradition to go see the show every year for the next four years or so.


Obviously, things have changed in cartoon viewing since then.  Adult Swim has one of my favorite shows- “Rick and Morty”.  I also enjoy “Archer” and “Robot Chicken”.  These shows push the boundaries of acceptable jokes but still remain on a higher level of intellectual humor when you really pay attention.  From “Family Guy” to “The Simpsons” cartoons are more mainstream than ever now.  Often poking fun at themselves and pop culture.  Even YouTube has made it easier to share more profound or even disturbing cartoons.


I’m not saying all disturbing cartoons are funny or worth watching.  But sometimes a gem shines through and really sticks with you.  There was one short film that I absolutely fell in love with.  Every so often I go online just to watch it again.  I recommend you enjoy the film.  It’s maybe PG rated, so it’s not the worst of the animated shows I’ve mentioned.  It is shown like a nature documentary and is cute in it’s delivery.  

Here is the link, please enjoy: The Hidden Life of The Burrowing Owl. On Vimeo 

One comment

  1. Pingback: SuperbOwl | Making It Up As I Go

Leave a Reply

