Pokemon GO isn’t bad

So…… Pokemon GO finally made its way to Canada yesterday.  Yup, I’m trying to catch ’em all.  I know there were people here who jumped the release and have been playing for a little over a week.  That’s fine, I understand the FOMO concept, and the desire to yell out “FIRSTIES!”  If you don’t know anything about the game, I’m not about to explain it, just skip reading today’s post.

Cigarettes are bad


I like the game.  Part of the fun is taking pictures where the Pokemon appear.  Since the game is still in its infancy, it has crashed on me as I try and take a photo.  Now I only try and capture a fun image.  Since we live out in the country, there aren’t many Pokemon, Pokestops or gyms nearby.  And our cellular data craps out in certain areas.  Poop.  But, we have activities that our children go to in more major hubs filled with locations.  

I ditched my Fitbit the other day only to have two days of walking around looking for Pokemon.  I’ve done nearly 30 kms of walking.  I barely did one when I wore the Fitbit.  My wife is happy that this has gotten me active again.  Gotta Catch ‘Em All!  Pokemon!

Since its release nation wide on a Sunday, I met numerous other people wandering around the churches and parks.  I met people of all ages walking around.  Some adults my age (40ish) were curious about the game.  The kids and teens were friendly and helpful as we shared tips and strategies with one another.  There was an abundance of people outside on the first day! This game could help destroy obesity and help in bringing the population back to a healthy state. 


Don’t Pokemon and drive!  Besides it being effing dangerous, here in BC the distracted driving laws are costly to your pocket book.  Sure, the game is free, but paying a few hundred for a traffic ticket isn’t on my list of money well spent.  Since our youngest children don’t have cellphones yet, as we drive, my wife and I have let them hit the Pokestops and catch Pokemon for us.  Score for the parents!


I was around and in my early 20’s when Pokemon first came out on Gameboy.  In fact I still own it.  I obsessed over the game.  I even watched the cartoon (yes I was 20 and watching a child’s cartoon) regularly and got to know all the Pokemon names.  This new game brought me back to the fun I used to have.  

Just when you think Nintendo is down and out, BOOM, back with a vengeance.  The IRL Pokemon capturing and searching is another way Nintendo leads the way in the videogame industry.  The phenomenon has captured people of all ages in under two weeks.  

After a day and a half…


Go ahead and post your internet memes of hatred towards those playing the game.  In my two day experience playing it, I met other like minded people who enjoy the game & I have gotten more exercise than I would have on a regular day.  I for one will be playing this game for the rest of the summer trying to upgrade my Pokemon and catching everyone I can.  I’ve already killed the battery on my iPhone twice in under a day.

Get out there and enjoy the world, whichever way you can.  #gottacatchemall

Leave a Reply

