The Summer Cold

Throughout most of the year I suffer from allergies.  I look at it as my body feeling bad for Mother Nature.  J/k.  Allergies suck.  But what sucks more than allergies is the Summer Cold.


Nothing like looking forward to your weekend, seeing that it’s going to be sunny and warm, making plans with friends, when your body decides to grab a virus.  I often confuse it with a bad case of an allergy attack.  It’s usually when I’m 2-3 days in with the sniffles that I realize I’m sick.  Now my days off are shot trying to recover.  

Did I mention before that I dislike sweating?  Sweating because of manual labor means you are accomplishing something with your hard work.  Sweating because of a cold or flu is just plain gross.  In the summer, being drenched in your own fluids as snot rolls out of your head is not how I want to go.  You may as well be taking the brain out of my skull and throwing it directly into the sun.  Summer cold sweats are the worst.


Usual winter remedies or comforts, like chicken noodle soup or hot tea, doesn’t work the same in the summer.  You pretty much just have to suffer through the cold virus until it passes onto the next victim.  This is the time that I do my best to try using mind over matter.  I think healthy thoughts and avoid focusing on being sick.  I’m not sure that it works, but it beats feeling miserable all the time.

I feel better already.

Achoo 

Nope.  It’s still here.  Ugh.

Leave a Reply

