I know nothing about how my body works.

I woke up this morning with a sharp pain in my lower back.  Only it wasn’t my muscles.  So I thought, “Man, my colon is sore” as I rubbed my lower left side.  Then it dawned on me that maybe it was my kidney.  Could it be my liver?  Definitely not my lungs- I know when those are sore.  I really have no clue where this pain is coming from or why I am experiencing it.

It dawned on me that after 40 years on this planet, I really don’t know where my organs are located or what each of their purpose is.  I know the basics.  Brain runs the show.  Heart pumps the blood.  Lungs bring in oxygen for the blood.  Stomach digests the food.  Intestines shove the food waste out.  Without each organ, I could die.  Maybe.  Or I would need medicine or treatments to bypass that death thing.  Medical advances could keep me alive.  See?  All sciency and stuff.  I have zero understanding about my body.  I assume that I have the same organs as everyone else.  That’s where my knowledge ends.


I learned long ago not to trust Dr. Google if I had some sort of ailment.  My family doctor is much better.  He studied medicine for years.  He knows me personally.  He even kind of cares about my well being and my family’s well being.  I trust his medical opinion.  He isn’t a multimillionaire.  He isn’t “Big Pharma” either.  He just wants to help people stay alive and healthy.  I go to him and explain my ailments.  I don’t tell him what drug I think I need or what possible disease I think I’ve contracted.  I know nothing, so I trust my health in his knowledge of medicine and the human body.


Nine times out of ten?  I am advised to go home.  Rest, exercise, eat better, see him again if things persist.  Smart advice.  The other one time?  Inhaler refill.  He recommends a flu shot every year, so I get one.  I haven’t had the flu in over five years.  A common cold every so often, but not the flu.  My children and I are up to date on vaccinations as well.  Guess what?  None of us have gotten the measles, mumps or rubella.  Poliomyelitis?  Not here.  Why?  Because I trust my doctor and his knowledge of the medical field.

I don’t have the answers or the knowledge of how the human body works.  But I am smart enough to find someone who does.  I like my family doctor.  He’s pretty chill.

My wife is no doctor, but sometimes her advice is spot on.  Today for example- I told her about my pain, she told me to try pooping because that may be the problem.  Guess what?  I pooped and feel better.  No doctor’s appointment needed this time.

Leave a Reply

