The News Today

I stopped watching the news reports on tv a few years ago.  I found most reports are made for shock value.  Inflated numbers about “possible” injured and casualties.  Sensationalized terror attacks breeding fear into the public.  All followed up with some story involving celebrity gossip.  

I still pay attention to the news.  In fact, I get most of my news from NEWS 1130 on the radio as I drive to work.  In the 45 minutes to an hour it takes me to get to work, I usually hear a full cycle of the most important news of the day.  Plus traffic reports and weather every ten minutes.  I like this style of reporting because they need to give facts and not show videos to get their story across.  Sure, on their website there are pictures and video clips, but during my short drive- none of that distracts from the story.

Social media outlets do not share news.  People share “clickbait” and motivational images.  Of course there are things like Kony2012, The Ice Bucket Challenge or changing your profile pic to have the colours of a flag to show “support” to a country that spread like wildfire.  Again, very sensationalized for a brief moment.

Fireball


Yesterday, SpaceX had an unfortunate setback.  I shared a video from CNN on my Facebook profile of the explosion.  Guess what?  It received a few comments & likes, but really no one else shared the footage.  Why?  Most likely because no one died, no one was injured.  Nothing more than a rocket exploding on a launchpad into a fireball.  Not news worthy to most people.  But I have questions. Hard hitting real questions.  


How did it happen?  What does this mean for commercial space travel?  How soon until they try again?  What kind of insurance did SpaceX need? Travel insurance or vehicle insurance?  

Turns out, Wired also asked some of those questions.  Click on the Wired link: The answers will astound you. (Clickbait joke)

The short answer: Nobody knows.  It’s only the day after the incident.  Science and business fields are waiting to find out about the future of SpaceX and the future of commercial space travel.  I’m waiting to find out.  My friends?  Some may be curious, but most likely do not care.  Part of that reason?  The idea of space travel to regular folks like me still feel out of reach.  As if it’s only for the wealthy elite.  At this point in time, it kind of is.  But one day, we may get off this rock and find a new rock.  

I hope I’m around for that day.  

I also hope SpaceX bounces back quickly from this set back.

I also wonder what their insurance deductible is.

Leave a Reply

