First Aid

Today I was re-certified in my First Aid Level C.  It’s something that my work requires of me to have valid every three years, just like my rules.  Besides needing it for work, I feel that it’s kind of important to just have it as well.


I don’t ever want to have to use it.  But if it is required in an emergency, I will gladly step up to help.  I’m not the kind of person who enjoys someone else’s suffering.  Nor am I the type of person who could sit idly by and pretend it isn’t happening.  Helping others just seems like the right thing to do.

Today I found the class to be very informative.  I also learned some things that I had either missed the last time, or the info completely dissolved from my brain.  It also seemed that there were changes over the past couple of years about how we should react in an emergency.  When it comes to retaining knowledge, they say if you don’t use it, you lose it.  Not using my First Aid skills is ok with me.  Like I said, I really don’t ever want to have to use them.

At any rate, I feel confident in my skills.  I passed the final test quickly with 100%.  I almost feel like going out into the world and announcing to everyone, “Don’t worry!  I know First Aid.”  I guess I kind of am since I’m blogging about it.


Learning First Aid, recognizing emergencies, and how to deal with situations has been ingrained in my life since I was a child.  My mother was a nurse by trade, so we often had medical books around the house.  During elementary school swimming lessons, we learned some lifesaving basics.  Most of my jobs had the basics of First Aid taught, or allowed people to take a course on behalf of the company.  I always took advantage of any schooling or courses that would be offered up.  (I also know a ton about doors & windows, lawn care & BBQs thanks to Home Depot’s extensive training that they offer.)   

Having my First Aid up to date is important to me.  If my work didn’t offer it to us, I would likely still keep it up to date.  I’m also very proud of my friends who have chosen the path to be First Responders, paramedics, firefighters or police.  It’s not an easy line of work, but I am glad they are choosing to be there when needed.

Leave a Reply

