Fundraising Date Night

If you have children, then you understand the fact that there is always something to raise money towards.  Books for the school, new playground equipment, camps, or an arts program.  Outside of school, you are already spending money on scouts, hockey, dance, or in our case: speed skating and cheerleading- but they still require more money via fundraising.

Scary but true…


Last night, my wife and I attended a Pub Night fundraiser for the local high school.  It’s not the school that our children attend nor is it the one they will be attending, but it is a school that our friends have children attending.  They were fundraising for the musical theater department. I am always willing to support “The Arts” because that is often the best way for children to discover hidden talents.

The old adage of “It takes a village to raise a child” fits perfectly here.  I am a huge supporter of a good education.  Even if I didn’t have children, I’d still be ok with my tax dollars going towards education.  To me education isn’t just attending school, but rather learning skills and exploring talents.  

Last night’s fundraiser was also a great excuse for my wife and I to go on a dinner date.  Spending some one-on-one time with my wife lately has been fantastic.  We have finally been able to leave our children at home and come back to the house still standing.  It’s nice that they are growing more responsible these days, but it also means they aren’t our little babies anymore…

Leave a Reply

