Messed Around with Gender Roles.

Line my eyes and call me pretty.

Crystal Pepsi, Ace Ventura, and purple hair. This was this past summer, not the 90’s.


I love changing my hair color.  I’ve been doing it more frequently this year than in the past.  It’s one of the few things that defines who I am.  It adds flair to my already eccentric personality.  A couple years ago, you could have caught me wearing red contact lenses or spiderweb lenses.  But I found they irritated my allergies more than they were worth.  Nothing worse than burning eyes and a hatred for yourself for implementing self torture.

At our tenth wedding anniversary. Love the jacket and hat.


I don’t usually care what others think of me.  So I find myself acting more courageous than most.  I’m eager to put on a top hat and steampunk clothes just to head into work.  Or wear my pajamas and housecoat to go grocery shopping in the afternoon on a Sunday.  

A truly outrageous look.


I put on a dress in order to embarrass my children, but that doesn’t work- they just get angry because I’m taking too long to get ready.  I’ll throw on dress pants, tie and suit jacket to go out for a walk with the dog.  Last Friday, I went to a funeral wearing a Spider-Man Hawaiian style shirt because the person who had passed away wanted people to wear bright colors.    All that being said, I really love my t-shirts and jeans, which you will often find me wearing on a regular basis.

Just a regular day of being awesome.


I don’t wear much in the way of jewelry (although it is more than my wife).  A wedding ring, a cheap watch, tongue ring, and a pair of diamond earrings in my left ear is all I ever really adorn.  Being comfortable in my own skin is an important lesson I learned at a young age.    Not everyone is going to be kind to you.  Many people will even try and force their ideals about how you should look or act.  Go out and be yourself.  You’ll be much happier when you do.

Dr. Seuss said it best: “Be who you are and say what you feel, because those who mind don’t matter and those who matter don’t mind.”

That time I met Howie Mandel while I was in my pjs.

Leave a Reply

