Just spit it out already 

At my age (yes, I’m actually going to use that phrase-leave me alone) I don’t have time to play mind games.  Those manipulative types of games that people think they should use to get what they want.  I’m pretty perceptive when it comes to noticing that game.  Like I said, I don’t have time for it.  

Unless I do have time for it…

Meaning- I’ll string people along for a while until they either outright ask for what they want or give up.  I’ll play dumb for ages to get a rise out of someone.  Pleasantries and greetings are fine and all- those are totally acceptable to start a conversation. But the next few moments can really irk me.  Don’t try and make small talk about what my plans are or some bs about needing to get together.

Need a ride somewhere?  Ask.

Need help moving stuff?  Ask.

Need us to look after your kids for a night?  Ask.

Need to borrow money?  Don’t ask.

That’s right.  I don’t “lend money” to friends.  It’s the quickest way to find out how much your “friendship” is worth.  I’ve lost friends over a loan of $15.  It’s amazing how quickly people forget to pay back even the smallest of loans.  If I see someone close to me in dire need of financial assistance, I will give them money without expecting remuneration.

Don’t even get me started on rumors about people.  Rumors about movies?  Ok.  People?  Not ok.

“Did you hear about so-and-so?” Nope.  Don’t care.

“I can’t believe so-and-so did this…” Good for them.  How did it affect you?  It didn’t?  Then who cares.

“So-and-so said this about you…” Why are you telling me?  Does it make you feel bigger than me to put me down?

Old Gregg wants you to just spit it out.


At the end of it all, just like me for who I am.  Not what I can offer you or what you feel you can take from me.

I dislike posting rants. But sometimes you just need to get stuff off your chest. I promise to be more uplifting next time.

Leave a Reply

