Cold November Rain

It’s the beginning of a new month.  November.  An opportunity to start a new challenge in one’s life before the year draws to an end.  November is that last push before Christmas is upon us.  Another chance to make good on all of those promises we made to ourselves throughout the year.


This year I am going to do something I’ve thought about for years.  I’m going to try and write a novel in a month.  The NaNoWriMo challenge is for the entire month.  Write a few (thousand) words/day and “poof” a magical novel is created.  I am 100% sure that the majority of work is not worthy of anyone’s reading, but it gets those juices flowing.  Besides signing up for the challenge, where does one start?  “Once upon a time…”

I also use this month as a time to “Purge”.   It will be a great way for me to avoid writing.  Honestly.  I’m not going to lie about that, if the writing gets tough, I will distract myself by going through our old clothes- sweaters and hoodies come out of hibernation.  Some may not fit, maybe the style isn’t how we want to portray ourselves, or maybe we’ve outgrown its usefulness.  Or old toys and games.  Time to donate things we never use.

As well there is the yard.  Leaves have been falling, and a garden needs major pruning.  Today, we had a pretty significant rain fall.  It made me realize that the downspouts and roof need a good cleaning.  Yay!  More distractions from completing my writing challenge!

Ah, November.  A time to get lost in thought.  Everybody needs some time on their own.

And when your fears subside

And shadows still remain

I know that you can love me

When there’s no one left to blame

So never mind the darkness

We still can find a way

‘Cause nothin’ lasts forever

Even cold November rain


Dammit G’N’R.  You always sneak up and get stuck in my head at the worst moments.

Leave a Reply

