The Old Razzle Dazzle

Give ’em the old razzle dazzle

Razzle Dazzle ’em


Some days it feels like all I’m doing is putting on a show for others to watch.  It also feels like they tune in when they’re bored…

Give ’em an act with lots of flash in it 

And the reaction will be passionate


I’m not sure why people love to complain.  I enjoy doing it from time to time.  I even get worked up over ridiculous things.  Like people who don’t use coasters for drinks.  That came from when I was five and we were visiting my aunt and uncle outside of Connecticut.  I got yelled at for putting a glass on their glass dining room table at breakfast.  Man.  The little things that make you who you are…

Give ’em the old hocus pocus

Bead and feather ’em

How can they see with sequins in their eyes?



Stringing together a story all the while hiding what I’m really trying to say.  There comes a point in almost all of my stories that I am deliberately talking about someone whom I know reads these.  It’s not always obvious who I’m speaking of- especially when I mesh together aspects of different people in my life.

What if your hinges all are rusting?

What if, in fact, you’re just disgusting?


I’ve gotten to a point in my life that I don’t much care for all the negativity out there.  I’ve also come to the realization that I don’t want sexist attitudes and racism around me or my family.  There comes a time that you have to choose what kind of role model you need to be.  Hiding sexism or racism behind “humorous” images is deplorable.  I don’t need it in my life.  I really don’t need to have my children think that I’m like that either.  I can’t tell them to do the right thing if either I myself or a “friend” is chauvinistic and sexist.  I want my son to be a gentleman and my daughters to expect courtesy and respect.

Razzle dazzle ’em

And they’ll never catch wise!


Leave a Reply

