Choose Life

Yesterday, the Trainspotting 2 trailer came out.  It begins, “Choose life. Choose Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and hope that someone, somewhere cares…” As trite and cliched as it may seem- it is what many in western society seeks today. I have high hopes for the movie sequel (total pun intended) coming out this January.  

Twenty years ago, the first film graced the cinemas.  The original movie was equally as disturbing as it was fantastic.  Besides following the lives of drug addicts, it laid out what life in western society was meant to be.

The poster I have kept after all of these years.


Like every other twentysomething at that time, I had the poster expressing the goals that everyone was supposed to accomplish.  It was pinned up in the washroom of the rental home I shared with three to five other adults- depending if their girlfriends were there at the time…  For years, I saw that poster and it became ingrained in my mind.

In a way, it turned into the mantra of my life.  I have followed or done nearly everything written on this poster…  But the one line I have not chosen is “Choose rotting away in the end of it all, pishing your last in a miserable home, nothing more than an embarrassment to the selfish, fucked up brats you spawned to replace yourself…”  That is where I wish to break the cycle.  Maybe twenty or thirty years from now I can say for sure.  

But for now, I choose my future.

I choose life.

Leave a Reply

