What Were The Skies Like When You Were Young?

I don’t think I remember what the sky looked like when I was younger.  In the past few years however, I’ve looked onwards and outwards more often.  The beauty that this world has to offer stretches far beyond the horizon.

This morning had another beautiful start.


This morning I paused for a moment with my son as I drove him to school.  I admired the sun as it was coming up, but he didn’t care.  It was just another day to him.  I thought about my youth and how I was always seeking the next moment, never indulging in what lay before me.  I still do that instinctively.

The sky over Nevada 2015.


Last year we took a more scenic road trip back home from California.  Through Nevada, the roads stretched on forever, sometimes meeting with the sky.  It has been my favorite drive to date.  The flow of the roads and the lay of the land- I just went with it.  

Sunset in Hawaii, April 2012.


The same sky that I have looked at and ignored for so many years has shown me more than enough beauty that I am ashamed to have missed it in the past.  Now- every trip we go on, I take a snapshot of the every changing landscape.  Absolutely breathtaking.

Storm clouds on a drive home from work.


Sometimes even the worst weather can share with us a glimpse of wonder.  Our daily grind keeps our heads down focused more on each step to the next goal.

Sunset along the river just north of our home.


At the end of the day, as well as the start, the earth turns and showcases the light bouncing around from the sun.  Not every sky is clear.  Some are dotted with clouds.  Other days there are streams of colour, bursting all around us.  


But we forget.  We forget to enjoy the moment.  We forget what it’s like to stare off into the sunset.  We forget that we need to let go and allow the alluring sky to take hold on occasion.

Not everyday is a rush to get to the next location.

Sometimes, you just need to watch the clouds roll by and remember what the sky was like when you were young.

Leave a Reply

