Comfort vs Style

This past weekend, my wife finally agreed to changing out our theater room seating.  We used to have a large L shaped leather couch that we have since moved into our family room.  In its place, we put our white love seat and couch as a temporary sitting arrangement.  Those couches we have had for nearly twelve years and they don’t suit our home any more.  So it’s time to change it up.


Our theater room used to be a formal living room.  But we hardly used the space when we first moved in.  My wife and I decided (mostly with my convincing of her) to make it into a theater room.  We have enjoyed many years of family movie nights, video games, and sporting event finals.


However, since changing the style of seats the comfort level has been lacking.  The kids fight over where to sit and how to sit.  Even I am uncomfortable as I try and curl up beside my wife on our love seat.

At Vancouver Fan Expo of all places, my wife “discovered” some new seating possibilities.  To say that I am irked is putting it mildly because for years I have suggested it.  However it took her trying it out without me around for her to suggest it for our home.  Now, she is seriously looking into the idea.

FINALLY, we may be buying bean bag chairs for the room.  Check these bad boys out at Yogibo.


Okay, it may not seem very grown up or whatever.  But hear me out.  These aren’t just your run-of-the-mill Walmart bean bag chairs.  These are of a higher quality and come in more sizes and colours.  The layout and configuration of our theater room can be in constant change.  My wife and I are now discussing how many to buy, which styles and what colours.  We may end up with a rainbow assortment at the end of all this.


All it took was a salesman to flirt with my wife to make this happen.  šŸ˜‰  Just kidding. It took my wife finally trying out a bean bag chair that wasn’t cheaply made.  As much as I’m all for couches and regular furniture, I’m kind of excited about the change and basic silliness of it all.  I’ll keep you posted on the progress…

Leave a Reply

