My Least Favorite Holiday Song

Every year around this time, Christmas music is played everywhere you go.  I even have it playing on the speakers throughout my home.  My children are also practicing festive songs on the piano this month.  With all of this combined, there are hundreds of songs to go through.  Some are catchy, others are traditional, and some are just plain terrible.  Not including the comedic styles like “Grandma got run over by a reindeer” there is one song that I just cannot stand to hear- no matter who sings it.

Baby It’s Cold Outside


Here is a link to the creepy Tom Jones version where he appears to be the devil with a woman in a cage.  This video really exasperates the meaning behind the song.

But Josef, what about the time Buddy the Elf sang it in the hit movie “Elf”?


Seriously.  He is in a woman’s change room while a girl is taking a shower.  Not cool Will Ferrell, even by your standards of comedy.  Probably the number one reason I don’t like this film.


The song itself has always bothered me.

  • Lady wants to go home
  • Dude keeps trying to put the moves on her
  • She says no
  • His pride is hurt, but he insists
  • She gives in to shut him up

Unfortunately, this is what society is teaching people what to do and how to act.  Granted the song was written in 1944 and starts innocently enough:

I really can’t stay (but baby, it’s cold outside)

I’ve got to go away (but baby, it’s cold outside)

So it’s cold outside and it sounds like genuine concern from the guy until a few bars later:

Say what’s in this drink? (no cabs to be had out there)

I ought to say, no, no, no sir (mind if I move in closer?)

WOAH NOW!  What’s in her drink?  She’s clearly saying no to his advances.  But further on in the song she gives up:

At least I’m gonna say that I tried (what’s the sense in hurtin’ my pride?)

You’ve really been grand (I thrill when you touch my hand)

But don’t you see? (how can you do this thing to me?)

The poor female in this song is facing pressure to fulfill this guy’s needs.  He is still playing the scoundrel right up until the end:

There’s bound to be talk tomorrow (think of my lifelong sorrow)

At least there will be plenty implied (if you got pnuemonia and died)

I don’t like this song.  Never have.  It really bothers me that so many artists think of it as a great duet as well.  

Last year Fun or Die nailed this song perfectly.  Have a watch and see what it is about that song that bugs me:

Funny Or Die: Baby It’s Cold Outside

Leave a Reply

