Snowmageddon 2016

A friend of mine, from two lifetimes ago, shared a news article mentioning the great snowstorm of Vancouver back in 1996.  I remember that one.  Sort of.  Here’s what I do remember:

  • There was a lot of snow.
  • There was a lot of drinking.
  • There was a lot of stupidity.

Man were we stupid.  My sister’s boyfriend at the time had a 4×4 truck.  I had a sled, a rope and some beers in me.  Out on the snow covered main roads we went.  I was dragged behind the truck riding a plastic sled drinking a beer in nothing but jeans and a t-shirt.  Straight through a red light at full speed, followed by a sudden turn and brakes being slammed.  Before skidding under his truck, I leaned to the side and flipped over.  Thank goodness for the fresh foot of snow on the roads.

A few days later was New Year’s Eve.  I was sick with the flu- maybe something to do with the sled and not being dressed for the weather.  But, we still had a party at our home because my parents were snowed in elsewhere at the time.  Even though I was sick, I still drank in excess.  It was the best/worst New Year’s ever.  Hot NeoCitran and sparkling wine make for a unique cocktail.  One that I have never gone for again.

The snow this year isn’t nearly as bad as we’ve had it in the past.  Sure, it sucks to get around in.  But my kids love it.  Most kids love it.  I love it.  It reminds me of my childhood in Edmonton.  I’m ok that we only get these snowfalls every few years.  Usually we suffer through rain.  The man-child inside of me is hoping that we have a true white Christmas this year.  That always adds beauty to the moments.


Being young and dumb in the snow is great fun.

Leave a Reply

