I Walk The Thinnest Line


I walk the line between adulthood and immaturity on a regular basis.  I’m currently in our theater room, sitting in a beanbag chair writing.  Today I washed our new dishes and put up new curtains.  Later I’ll be playing videogames and joking with our kids.


Until recently at work, I was often a goofball.  I’m not saying that’s going to change, but certain aspects will.  No more crazy colors for my hair.  No more graphic t-shirts.  Time for dress pants and golf shirts.  I’m sure I’ll be able to sneak a bit of my nerdiness in.  My job title has changed, but who I am has not.  There are certain expectations at work that I need to meet.  I’m ok with that.

Parenting is another aspect of my life that I sway between being a kid at heart and acting all growed up.  I’d like to think that I’m a good parent to our children by encouraging them at school and in their interests as well as setting rules and regulations in our home that they need to follow.  On the other hand,  I enjoy playing and goofing off with them.  We joke and have a great time together as friends.  That’s a bond I don’t feel I had with my parents as much growing up.


Of course I have bills that I need to pay.  But there’s also a little bit of money set aside for fun.  Disneyland trips, Star Wars toys, videogames, movies, etc…  

I’m savoring life by keeping a healthy balance between responsibilities and being carefree.  I think everyone else should as well.

Leave a Reply

