One Year

I can’t believe that I have successfully challenged myself to write a daily blog post for an entire year.  There has been no rhyme or reason for what I write about.  General rule of thumb about my posts- whatever pops into my head.

I have tried to write positive blogs as often as I could.  Some are even amusing. On occasion I have shared a personal story of heartbreak or pain.  Those stories have defined who I am.  But I noticed that for a few days after sharing a sad tale, I would feel miserable.  It was hard to get back into a positive frame of mind.

I am tall in general.

The one thing that I noticed about sharing stories is that I have led a pretty good life.  I have shared many moments with some great friends and family.  I’ve had a chance to relive my journey thus far.  I can honestly say that throughout the struggles and challenges, my life is exactly where I want it to be.

Writing a positive daily post about my life and opinions has made me a happier person.  Being a happier person has also improved everything about how I see the world.  There is a silver lining to every cloud.  There is a pot of gold at the end of every rainbow.  Unicorns have sparkly poop.

One Year…

One year.  I may be the only one celebrating this goal.  But that was the point of my journey.  Writing daily was for me.  I shared it with the world so that people could use my life lessons as advice.  I’ve had a ton of fun writing every day.  I’ll admit that I struggled from time to time to come up with a topic.  As well I squeaked a few blog posts in just before midnight.  I never had a set time of day that I would post.  In hindsight, if I want more readership I should look at those stats.  

I reached my one year goal and I’m not ready to stop the momentum.  I have a few stories still on the burner.  A huge thank you to everyone for the feedback and support.  If you’ve Come Here To See All My Mistakes– I’m sorry to disappoint.

I leave you with some Sinatra to end my one year:

And now, the end is near; 

And so I face the final curtain.

My friend, I’ll say it clear, 

I’ll state my case, of which I’m certain.
I’ve lived a life that’s full.

I’ve traveled each and every highway; 

And more, much more than this, 

I did it my way.
Regrets, I’ve had a few; 

But then again, too few to mention.

I did what I had to do

And saw it through without exemption.
I planned each charted course; 

Each careful step along the byway, 

And more, much more than this, 

I did it my way.
Yes, there were times, I’m sure you knew

When I bit off more than I could chew.

But through it all, when there was doubt, 

I ate it up and spit it out.

I faced it all and I stood tall; 

And did it my way.
I’ve loved, I’ve laughed and cried.

I’ve had my fill; my share of losing.

And now, as tears subside, 

I find it all so amusing.
To think I did all that; 

And may I say – not in a shy way, 

“Oh no, oh no not me, 

I did it my way”.
For what is a man, what has he got?

If not himself, then he has naught.

To say the things he truly feels; 

And not the words of one who kneels.

The record shows I took the blows –

And did it my way! 
Yes, it was my way.

Leave a Reply

