Queen & Bowie… & Carlin?

I realized today that I will never see Freddie Mercury and David Bowie perform in my lifetime.  Two great musicians are no longer on this planet.  Both passed away many years apart from each other.  I still enjoy listening to their music collaboration 35 years later.


1982: Under Pressure came out.  When the song plays I can feel their voices resonate the words throughout me.  The battle we all face from the pressures of life is portrayed in this song.  I have felt pressure lately in my life.  Both at home and at work.  The pressures of being a good parent.  The pressures of making the right decisions at work.  Pressure coming at me at all angles.

This is our last dance

This is our last dance

This is ourselves

Under pressure

Under pressure

Pressure

I could recite this song and almost every other greatest hit Queen song written.  I do not own any Queen or Bowie albums.  When I was 12, a friend of mine made a cassette copy of Queen’s Greatest Hits on one side and George Carlin on the other.  I have no idea where that cassette is but it influenced my life.


Strange that even in all of their greatness, they passed on.  They each left a legacy.  For no reason I thought about them today.  My tendency towards sarcasm and atheist views were influenced by Carlin (among others, but he was humorous).  My love for being who I am was influenced by Mercury.    My ideals and wonder of life and beauty was inspired by Bowie.

All of them did what they wanted- they enjoyed life.  I need to remember that.  Life is for living.  I need to keep on living my life the way that matters to me.

Leave a Reply

