Happy Talk


In the early 80’s there was this strange phenomenon called “The Mini Pops”.  I owned a VHS copy that got played over and over until it finally just gave static lines.  This was my first introduction into “real music” and not just Disney songs from Jungle Book and Snow White.  We also owned a “Christmas” Cassette and the “Let’s Dance” cassette.  Car rides with my mom were the best.

This was also my introduction into pop music.  I knew the words for “The Lion Sleeps Tonight” and “Video Killed The Radio Star” by age seven.  But one of the songs that stuck with me was “Happy Talk”.

Captain Sensible?


The Mini Pops did a cover of Captain Sensible’s version who originally did a cover of the song from the musical “South Pacific”.  The song is fun.  It shouldn’t have been a pop hit even in 1982- but it was.  For a young child, the song was catchy and inspirational.  

Talk about things you’d like to do.

You gotta have a dream-

If you don’t have a dream,

How you gonna have a dream come true?

This is today’s earworm for me as well.  But the words are uplifting still.  If you don’t have a dream, how you gonna have a dream come true?  I am constantly making new dreams and doing my best to achieve them.  Perhaps in my youth, this song hit my subconscious and remains locked there.  Maybe this is the motto that drives me to keep writing and doing more for my life.  It’s what I like doing…

Keep talkin’ happy talk.

Leave a Reply

