I’ve Fallen and I Can’t Get Up

No, I’m not all elderly and decrepit, needing a button to call for help.  Maybe one day, but today is not that day.


Instead, I’m stuck in my theater room lounging on a beanbag chair.  I have become one with the furniture.  My lazy gene has taken over my body and kicked out the motivation gene.  I still have the ability to move, but only to adjust my comfort level.  

The last couple of days was a torrent of spring cleaning.  Both inside and outside of the house.  I’m really happy with the progress and all of the assistance I got from my family.  But today it came to a grinding halt.  All because of my Colecovision.


I wanted to play some of my old games on the big screen.  We don’t have a tv in the theater room- just a projector.  Unfortunately there was no way to connect the rf switch to our projector.  I tried to bypass this issue with an old vcr, running the rf switch into the “cable in” and using the RCA cables going out.  No such luck.  I’m sure there is a way to resolve this issue, but with my current collection of cables and wires, I was unable to play Zaxxon.  This made me sad.

I know there are downloads available on PlayStation or something.  I also know that there is a retro console available for purchase with all of those classic games built in and shown in hi-res.  But that’s not the point.  The point is that I am at a stage where I may indeed get rid of my Colecovision and my Intellivision.


After the disappointment kicked in, I opted to pull out Guitar Hero 3 and play a few rounds with my wife.  She was happy to beat me.  But when we stopped, I couldn’t get up.  My comfort level was too damn high!  She left and I had to call out to a child to come into the room to turn off the screen and stereo.  I was lucky enough that my iPhone was within reach so I could write my blog post today.

I can try and turtle-roll myself out of this beanbag chair and get started on my dinner.  Maybe a shower as well.  Unless someone wants to feed me…  I’ve fallen and I can’t get up.  The beanbag chair is like a warm hug entrapping me in its arms.

Leave a Reply

