Dumb Dad

My daughter told me tonight that I have a pose.  The “Dumb Dad Pose” to be precise.  It’s a position that I hold myself in when explaining things.  I had no idea that I had this mannerism.  But when I struggle to find the words to explain what I want to express- out comes my signature pose.

I’m not the smartest person in the world by any means.  But I don’t see myself as being dumb.  I would hope that my children, of all people- would look up to me.  But it seems that I may be imperfect in their eyes as they get older.

I recall the times that I saw flaws in my parents.  It was very humbling to see it.  The knowledge that the people you look up to aren’t perfect and also have no idea how to “adult”.  My kids will see this in me as time goes on.  I’m also pretty sure there will be a time that I will have to ask for help from them.


In the mean time “Dumb Dad Pose” is now a thing that I am conscious of.  I don’t think I look dumb, but I definitely have a look.  But my kids think I look dumb.

Leave a Reply

