Easter Sunday 

Easter.  Meh.  Just another day.

Easter Bunny DGAF.


I don’t eat much in the way of chocolates or sweets as it is.  Candy just doesn’t appeal to me.

Growing up Catholic- I understood and despised the story of Easter.  A strange celebration marking the suffering and resurrection of someone dying for my sins made about as much sense as a bunny delivering chocolate eggs.

Toys


But when I became a father, my kids needed some magic in their lives.  Thus, I was ok with the Easter bunny bringing treats.  Same idea as Santa or the Tooth Fairy.  Magical lies told to my children in order to get them to behave and cooperate. And it was about as much fun setting up an Easter egg hunt as it was to watch the kids search them out.

My wife and I would use Easter as a time to give toys to the kids as well.  The Easter Bunny would bring items for the summer as a way to celebrate spring blossoming.  Somehow it turned into videogames and board games as they grew up.  Now, even as we have two teenage girls and a boy turning 11- they all still want to search for treats.  They also wanted me to be home to watch.


Yes I think our kids are too old for this.  But I also think my wife is afraid to let go of their childhoods.  Which is completely understandable.  The kids play along because they get candy, chocolates and goodies.  My wife plays along for nostalgia.  I play along because I love all of them.  

And my vote doesn’t count… 

Leave a Reply

