Little Birdhouse In Your Soul

Yesterday I complained about rats in my post Screw Ratatouille.  No complaints today.  I want to talk about something more fowl. Birds.  Stop with the dad jokes already.


Yesterday I discovered a woodpecker had made a new home in a dead tree near our house.  A friend on Facebook mentioned that it is a Western Flicker. Most people would be all, “nice bird pic” but I find it cool that someone out there knew the exact breed.


Even though we have lots of trees, the birds usually find nests elsewhere. A favorite spot is on top of a wood carved sculpture we have near one of our back doors.  Every year a red breasted robin makes its home there.  


Even my derelict AT-ST had a nest on it.  Birds just seem to be attracted to our man made art pieces. Seeing all of these birds finding shelter near our home is great. Sometimes they fly in and out of our home.  But my favorite adventure with these birds was the time a hummingbird flew inside our home.

We left our doors open like we usually do in the summer.  A stray hummingbird made its way into our dining room.  It got trapped by our skylight.  My wife devised a plan to cover the skylight with a blanket while I stood on our table and caught the bird in my hands.  Its little heartbeat was going at a furious rate.  I stepped outside and opened my hands to release it.  The bird took a few moments, then flew off. 

Birds are much more beautiful than rodents.  It’s funny how the cuter an animal is, the less likely I want to kill it.  

Leave a Reply

