It’s Over…

Quit being such a baby.

I’ve enjoyed the past few weekends of conventions, driving through the mountains and along the west coast. This week also had a bunch of quality family time and a lot of fun with my wife. But alas, all good things must come to an end…

The “old me”.

Back to the old grind for a couple of weeks of nightshifts beginning tonight.  At least I’m not on straight nights anymore like I was for years. Instead I do two weeks of nights, two weeks of days. As much as it sucks to have my vacation time end, I still kind of enjoy going to my job.  I mean come on, I move trains for a living!  That’s pretty cool no matter what age you are. I also have some fantastic coworkers whom I get along with. 

Even though my vacation is over, it’s nice to know that I have a decent job that supports my lifestyle and family.  Without this job, I probably wouldn’t be able to do the things we do or live where we live.  I could complain about going back to work or that I don’t want my vacation to end, but I won’t.  Instead, I’m going to make the most of my my time at work and look forward to my next set of vacation time later this summer.

I appreciate my job and my time off. All of that is a part of the work/life balance that people speak of. You need both to appreciate life. I’m working to try and make a better life for those around me. I also need the time off to enjoy being with those around me. Now I’m heading back to bed for my other favorite bedroom activity: Naps.

Leave a Reply

