Making Good On My Promise

It’s hard to keep a promise sometimes.  Especially when it’s one that is ongoing.  But this promise is one that I have upheld for many years and will continue to for many more years. 


I promised to support my children in whatever avenues they choose to go on for their education. I also promised to be there whenever I could to watch and cheer them on. It’s something I promised to myself.  I know that our children appreciate the support.

Tonight is no different.  Our middle daughter will be performing in both choir and concert band at her Fine Arts School.  Moments like this are what make all the hard work worthwhile.  


I know she is anxious and nervous.  I am as well.  It’s difficult and thrilling at the same time to watch your child perform.  You want them to succeed.


It was hard for me growing up because my parents weren’t always there for my performances.  My mother tried to push me, but if I wanted to give up- that was fine as well.  I found I gave up more often than I should have and it became easier each and every time.  

Not our kids. If it gets tough, we make them work through it.  Giving up isn’t an option.  We make sure that they understand that there are more people relying on them to see their performance to the end. Hopefully this is the right thing to do.

Tonight is about showing off the hard work and talent.  Both of which our children succeed in.  I’m still nervous as hell to watch them take the stage.  But after a few minutes, it’ll all be over.  And they can focus on their next goal.  All while I’m keeping my promise- without them knowing I had made it.

Leave a Reply

