Radio Waves

My household loves music.  Our kids play a variety of instruments from piano to bassoon.  They all attend a Fine Arts School and major in music as well.  I have also set up speakers throughout the main floor and back deck in order to enjoy music in almost every room.  I often use Kodi to search out a variety of radio stations and styles of music to fit my mood.  Oftentimes settling on Chamber Music or top 100 from the 80’s/90’s.  Occasionally Bluegrass or J-Pop sneaks in…


When I drive, I always have the radio on. Since getting my Rogue back in December, I’ve been listening to SiriusXM every time I drive my car.  We have had the satellite radio service for years in my wife’s Pathfinder, but we also listen to regular radio stations as well in her car.  Usually it’s NEWS1130 in order to keep up with current events both locally and internationally.


In my car however, the type of XM radio stations I listen to has morphed over the past few months.  First it was all music.  Disco, Grunge, 80’s, 90’s, even Classic Rock. Then I decided to start listening to the Comedy stations.  A few good laughs were had.  Now I am onto Talk Radio.  Specifically “SiriusXM insight”.  I find I really enjoy hearing people talk about everything and anything.

My issues with satellite radio are: The programming seems to be on repeat every 11-14 hours.  Which is rather annoying.  You’d think that with satellite radio and the money people spend on it, that there would be more variety constantly. Which brings me to my other point: Why should I pay for radio? I haven’t discovered the value in it.  

So when my six month subscription runs out in September, I will not be renewing.  The button on my car’s radio shall become useless.  Although, it feels that way for my FM button at the moment.  I don’t think I’ve even programmed in the local radio stations.  


In the end, I can live without paying for radio.  It’s just another expense not worthwhile.  Kind of like cutting off the cable tv.  There is so much more out there to be entertained by instead of wasting money on these strange luxuries. I just need to find a way to stream J-Pop into my car…

Leave a Reply

