Am I a Writer or a Plumber?

I procrastinated for about two days before finally starting on a home repair project.  More Plumbing issues.  Old house- new problems.  It seems to always be plumbing issues in this home.  It’s the one thing that drives me to want to throw in the towel and sell.  Today, I didn’t want to even start this project, just in case.


Today was a repair needed for the pipe connection that goes directly into the hot water tank.  It seems the water from our well is rather rough on the pipes.  The hot water tank was new in March 2012, so I can time the corrosion to about 5 years.  Which seems about right for each repair I’ve had to do.  

So this morning, I took a shower, then washed dishes, filled the kettle, and filled a couple of jugs & pots with water.  (You know, just in case I really eff this one up.) Then began the water shut off followed by a draining of pipes and hot water tank.  After some internal debate with myself “You can do this Josef! Nope.  Better call a plumber!” I finally pulled out the hacksaw and cut the pipe. 

Some elbow grease and the part was removed.  It was off to the Home Depot and search out the replacement part(s). I found what I needed to make the repair work.  There are these fantastic parts called Shark Bite that are amazingly easy to use and haven’t caused me any grief in the past.  Within a few minutes of getting home, the repair was completed. Then the moment of truth. Turn the water back on to the house.


Success.  No more leak. I was so happy that I decided to write about it.  I’m not a plumber, but can make do.  I’m not quite a writer yet either.  I enjoy writing way more than plumbing that’s for sure. Having a basic knowledge of both skills has gotten me this far in life.  Heck, I even understand electrical work and other home improvements.  I have also studied books on writing and taken courses on the subject.  Yet somehow, I can’t get myself to write the novel I want people to read. It’ll come to me eventually.  When it does, the creative waters will flow!

Leave a Reply

