Better late than never

For nearly sixteen hours I worked today.  Then I grabbed a nap, now I’m off to see my son’s year end drama/choir performance.  The day had become so full, I was getting worried I wouldn’t be able to get my daily blog post done in time.

Here I am, waiting in line to get into my son’s show, iPhone in hand, being completely antisocial.  It’s a habit I dislike in myself and others, but one that I have succumbed to more often than not lately.  The dilemma I am feeling is whether I should write a quick post and put away my device to socialize, or continue to expand, edit, and ignore the people around me.  This includes ignoring my wife, who has now pulled out her iPhone and is scrolling through her Twitter newsfeed also being antisocial.


It seems to be an epidemic.  I briefly looked up from my iPhone and can now count on two hands (if I put down my device) how many others in my immediate vicinity are also on their smartphones.  The world around us is inconsequential compared to the world we are missing out on!  

I’m going to end my blog here and put down my device and open my mouth to talk.  Better late than never to begin a conversation with new people.

2 comments

  1. Jay Colby · June 12, 2016

    Great post I look forward to reading more from you in the future!

    Like

  2. Pingback: Go outside. Let the world in. | From guestwriters

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.